Below you’ll find answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about Georgia Landlord Tenant laws. We are not intending to provide legal advice, instead, point you in the right direction! Read more about renting regulations in Georgia here.
Can a landlord enter property without permission in Georgia?
There is no Georgia law regarding landlords entering a rental property without permission. However, tenants have the right to enjoy their rental property.
In Georgia, tenants should refer to their lease about whether or not a landlord can enter without permission. It is common for landlords to provide 24 hours advance notice if they will be entering for reasons including repairs and tours.
However, landlords have permission to enter rental units in emergencies such as fire and a burst pipe.
More reading: Official Code of Georgia § 44-7-1
What are landlords responsible for in Georgia?
In Georgia landlord tenant laws, landlords must provide tenants with the name and address of both the owner of the property (or someone acting on behalf of the owner) and the property manager. If these names and addresses change, the landlord must notify the tenant within 30 days.
Landlords are responsible for keeping the rental unit in a habitable condition. This includes ensuring utilities including electric, heat, and water are working.
Before a tenant signs a lease and moves into a property, the landlord must provide the tenant with a written list of preexisting damages. After a tenant moves out, the landlord must inspect the property for damages within three days and provide a list of damages to the tenant. The landlord must then provide the tenant with a chance to examine these damages and offer disputes.
Landlords must disclose if there is known lead paint on the property and if the property has flooded in at least three of the past five years. If a tenant asks whether anyone has died in the unit, the landlord must provide an honest answer.
How long does a landlord have to fix something in Georgia?
Landlords are responsible for completing necessary repairs. However, Georgia law does not state a specific amount of time a landlord has to fix something. What is considered a reasonable amount of time depends on the required repair.
More reading: Official Code of Georgia. § 44-7-13
Are landlords responsible for pest control in Georgia?
Georgia landlord tenant laws do not state that landlords are responsible for pest control. Unless a lease states that the landlord will provide pest control, they are not liable for providing this service.
If pest outbreaks are severe enough to limit the habitability of a rental unit, a landlord may be held responsible for pest control to make the property habitable again.
More reading: Official Code of Georgia. § 44-7-13
Can a tenant withhold rent for repairs in Georgia?
In Georgia landlord tenant laws, it is not recommended that tenants withhold rent when their landlord does not complete repairs. If a tenant does withhold rent, a landlord can consider it nonpayment of rent and pursue eviction.
A better option is to file a lawsuit or contact a local housing code inspector.
More reading: Georgia Landlord Tenant Handbook
How long does a landlord have to return a security deposit in Georgia?
A landlord must return a tenant’s security deposit within 30 days of the tenant surrendering the rental property. A landlord can retain a portion of the security deposit to cover damages other than normal wear and tear. If the landlord does keep a portion of the security deposit, they must provide the tenant with a receipt of the reasons for retaining the deposit. Landlords can also keep a portion of the security deposit to cover unpaid rent, fees, and late charges.
More reading: Official Code of Georgia. § 44-7-34
How much should a landlord charge for a security deposit?
There is no limit nor a set amount regarding how much a landlord can and should charge for a security deposit. It is common to charge an amount equal to one month’s rent.
More reading: Official Code of Georgia. § 44-7
How long can my landlord keep my security deposit?
In Georgia landlord tenant laws, a landlord can keep a security deposit for the duration of the lease term. After the tenant has surrendered the rental property, the landlord has three days to inspect the property for damages and 30 days to return the tenant their security deposit.
A landlord can keep a portion of the security deposit after these 30 days to cover damages as well as unpaid rent, fees, and late charges.
More reading: Official Code of Georgia § 44-7-34
How much notice does a landlord have to give a tenant to move out in Georgia?
For rental agreements without a specified termination period, aka a tenancy at will, the landlord must provide tenants with 60 days’ notice before they require them to vacate. A landlord cannot force a tenant to move out of a rental unit before the lease term is over unless the tenant has violated the lease terms.
More reading: Official Code of Georgia § 44-7-7
Is Georgia landlord-friendly?
Yes. Georgia is considered a landlord-friendly state due to the absence of rent control, no limits on security deposits, and other laws that favor landlords.
Read more of our state landlord tenant law guides here.
Note: This content is not intended to substitute, replace, or be construed as professional legal advice. It is for referential purposes only and not meant to replace the advice of your legal counsel, legal representation, and or lawyer. Please consult your professional legal representation or lawyer to be sure your lease is compliant with any state and/or federal laws.