The following information on Minnesota landlord tenant laws answers the most common questions concerning Minnesota rental rights. This information is not intended to provide legal advice, instead, it is meant to help clarify aspects of the law that commonly confuse landlords and tenants. Read the full Minnesota landlord tenant statutes here.
Can a Landlord Enter Property without Permission in Minnesota?
Landlords in Minnesota do not need permission to enter their property, but they must make a “good faith effort” to provide reasonable notice to the tenants and must have a “reasonable business purpose.”
The landlord does not need to provide notice when immediate entry is essential for the safety of the tenant, preventing damage or injury to people or the property, or to comply with local or state laws.
If landlords violate this, tenants can receive as much as $100 for each violation.
How Long Does a Landlord Have to Make Repairs in Minnesota?
According to Minnesota landlord tenant laws, landlords have 14 days to make repairs. The tenant has the right to file rent escrow action 14 days after submitting a written request to the landlord. Tenants may also place their entire rent in the court’s escrow and request the court require the landlord to complete the repairs, sue in a district or conciliation court to get rent abatement, or sue in district court using the Tenant’s Remedies Act.
If the landlord does not make repairs, the tenant can also use this as their defense in suits filed by the landlord, such as for unpaid rent.
Further Reading: Visit Landlords and Tenants: Rights and Responsibilities: During the Tenancy and scroll down to “Repair Problems.”
Do Landlords Have to Paint Between Tenants in Minnesota?
No, there is no requirement in Minnesota landlord tenant laws for landlords to paint between tenants.
What Are Landlords’ Responsibilities with Security Deposits in Minnesota?
Length of Holding onto a Security Deposit When a Tenant Moves Out
Minnesota rental rights require landlords to return the security deposit with interest within 21 days following the end of the rental agreement.
How Much Can a Landlord Collect for a Security Deposit?
Minnesota landlord tenant laws do not place any limits on the amount of security deposit a landlord can require. Additionally, landlords have the right to increase the security deposit during periodic tenancies (agreements without final dates), provided they give the tenant written notice in advance. Similar changes are not possible in contracts with set end dates.
Further Reading: Visit Landlords and Tenants: Rights and Responsibilities: Entering into the Agreement and scroll down to “Security Deposits.”
What Can Be Taken Out of a Security Deposit When a Tenant Moves Out
Landlords can use the security deposit to pay for damages in excess of normal wear and tear. They can also use it for unpaid rent or other money owed, such as for utility bills.
Are Receipts Required with a Returned Security Deposit If Repairs or Other Items Are Taken Out of the Deposit?
Official receipts are not required in Minnesota landlord tenant laws, but the landlord must include a written explanation for any deductions from the deposit.
Any Other Rules the State Has on Security Deposits?
Minnesota landlord tenant law states that the tenant cannot use the security deposit to pay the final month’s rent. The only exception is using it to pay the final month in the case of a contract for a mortgage foreclosure redemption or deed cancellation period.
If the landlord does not return the security deposit within 21 days of the tenant moving out or does not provide the required written explanation for deductions, they will have to pay the tenant the withheld portion with interest plus the deposit amount and interest.
Do Landlords Have to Pay Interest on Security Deposits in Minnesota?
Yes, upon the security deposit return MN, landlords must pay interest on the security deposit. The currently required interest is just one percent, and it is not compounded.
Is Minnesota Landlord-Friendly?
Most people consider Minnesota to be landlord-friendly. The Minnesota rental rights favor the landlords in several aspects, including the minimum notice requirements for evictions and the lack of rent control.
Resources for Minnesota Landlord Tenant Laws:
- Landlords and Tenants: Right and Responsibilities from the State Attorney General
Read more of our state landlord tenant law guides here.
Note: This content is not intended to substitute, replace, or be construed as professional legal advice. It is for referential purposes only and not meant to replace the advice of your legal counsel, legal representation, and or lawyer. Please consult your professional legal representation or lawyer to be sure your lease is compliant with any state and/or federal laws.