Colorado Landlord Tenant Laws

The following information regarding Colorado landlord tenant laws answers the most common concerns and questions, from tenants’ rights to eviction notices.

Can a landlord enter without permission in Colorado?

There isn’t a Colorado Landlord-Tenant Act that requires advanced notice before a landlord enters a rental property. But, this doesn’t mean a landlord can enter a unit without permission.

Leases typically include information specifying when a landlord can enter a rental unit and how much notice they need to provide for non-emergency visits. If the lease doesn’t address when a landlord can enter, the tenant(s) have sole use of the unit. It’s important to note that if tenants refuse to provide the landlord access, the renters are responsible for any resulting damage.

For emergency visits, the landlord has the right to enter without permission. Emergencies include water leaks, fire, and other serious issues.

More reading: Privacy section (page 2) Colorado Landlord Tenant Rights

How much notice does a landlord have to give a tenant to move out in Colorado?

For Colorado landlord tenant laws, if a tenant refuses to pay rent, the landlord only has to provide the tenant with three days to pay rent or vacate. 

If the tenant violates lease terms other than missing rent payments, the landlord must give the tenant 30 days to fix the violation or move out. 

If the tenant doesn’t violate the lease, a landlord may still require a tenant to vacate the premises early. The required notice depends on the length of the lease.

  • Yearly lease: 91 days notice
  • 6-month lease: 28 days notice
  • 1-6 month lease: 21 days
  • 1 month or less lease 3 days

More reading: C.R.S. 13-40-107. Notice to quit

Can a landlord enter property without permission in Colorado?

In emergencies, a landlord can enter a rental property without permission from the tenant. In nonemergencies, the landlord should refer to the agreements in the lease.

More reading: Privacy section (page 2) Colorado Landlord Tenant Rights

How long does a landlord have to fix something in Colorado?

It is not assumed that it is the landlord’s responsibility to fix everything in a rental until. Landlords are responsible for making repairs that are necessary to ensure a safe and healthy environment. They are also responsible for repairs in common areas including shared parking lots and entryways.

For repairs not relating to health and safety, the lease dictates who is responsible. If the lease states that the landlord is responsible for repairs, there isn’t a set time period in which the landlord must fix the repairs.

For a matter that interferes with health and safety, a landlord has 24 hours to initiate repairs after receiving proper notice. For issues that make a unit uninhabitable but not unsafe, the landlord has 96 hours to start repairs. According to C.R.S. 38-12-505, uninhabitable conditions include dysfunctional appliances, faulty electric lighting, vermin, and more.

More reading: C.R.S. 38-12-503. Warranty of habitability

What can a landlord charge a tenant for when they move out in Colorado? 

A landlord can charge a tenant for any property damage that falls outside of normal wear and tear. Acceptable charges include damage from “negligence, carelessness, accident, or abuse of the premises.”

A landlord can also charge tenants for unpaid rent and cleaning services.

More reading: C.R.S. 38-12-102. Definitions

What are landlords’ responsibilities with security deposits in Colorado? 

Once a lease is terminated or a tenant moves out (whichever occurs later), the landlord has one month to return the security deposit unless the lease states otherwise.

A landlord can take money out of the security deposit to cover damages outside of normal wear and tear. If the landlord keeps any of the security deposit, they must provide the tenant with a written receipt detailing the reasons and costs of each item. If they do not provide a written statement, they lose their rights to withhold any of the deposit. When a landlord delivers this receipt, they must also provide the tenant with the remainder of their security deposit.

There is no law requiring a landlord to charge a security deposit, nor is there a mandated minimum or maximum. However, many landlords charge a security deposit equal to one month’s rent.

More reading: C.R.S. 38-12-103. Return of Security Deposit

What is the penalty for breaking a lease in Colorado?

If a tenant breaks any part of the lease, they may be evicted and/or charged for any property damages. However, Colorado landlord tenant laws do not establish a set penalty for breaking a lease.

More reading: Tenant Rights and Responsibilities (page 9-10) Colorado Landlord Tenant Rights

Can a landlord evict you immediately in Colorado?

No. If a landlord wishes to evict a tenant and has just cause, they must provide an official eviction notice. The amount of time the tenant has to correct their wrongdoing depends on the issue.

  • For unpaid rent: three days after eviction notice
  • For “substantial violations” that harm the property or persons: three days after eviction notice
  • For all other lease violations: 30 days after eviction notice

If a tenant has not corrected their missteps within the aforementioned time period, the landlord must file with local courts for official eviction. If the court determines the landlord has the right o evict the tenant, a sheriff can remove the tenant from the premises.

More reading: C.R.S. 13-40-107.5. Termination of tenancy for substantial violation – definition – legislative declaration and C.R.S. 13-40-101. Forcible entry and detainer defined

Is Colorado a landlord-friendly state?

Yes, Colorado is a landlord-friendly state. The Landlord-Tenant laws favor landlords more than tenants. For example, landlords can decide how much notice they need to provide before entering a rental unit, how much they charge for the security deposit, and more.

More reading: Colorado Landlord Tenant Rights

Resources for Colordao Landlord Tenant Laws:

Read more of our state landlord tenant law guides here.

Note: This content is not intended to substitute, replace, or be construed as professional legal advice. It is for referential purposes only and not meant to replace the advice of your legal counsel, legal representation, and or lawyer. Please consult your professional legal representation or lawyer to be sure your lease is compliant with any state and/or federal laws.